Everything SharePoint and XAML

My continuous learning of SharePoint, XAML, Silverlight, Windows Phone 7, Windows 8, Office, VSTO, C#…

Edit in Microsoft Office SharePoint Designer Error

Posted by Steve Pietrek on August 24, 2007

Today I attempted to edit the default.master file found in the Master Page Gallery by selecting the “Edit in Microsoft Office SharePoint Designer” option. I received the following error:

“The document could not be opened for editing. A Windows Sharepoint Services compatible application could not be found to edit the document.”

It seemed I had a mismatch of Office 2003/Office 2007 applications installed. I checked the list of installed applications and didn’t find any specific to Office 2003. Anyway, to fix, install the following hotfix (will require a reboot).

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/938888

One Response to “Edit in Microsoft Office SharePoint Designer Error”

  1. Wes Smith said

    Your solution worked for me. Thanks – Wes

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
