Everything SharePoint and XAML

My continuous learning of SharePoint, XAML, Silverlight, Windows Phone 7, Windows 8, Office, VSTO, C#…

Archive for October 10th, 2007

ONET.XML, Site Definitions, and alternate default.aspx

Posted by Steve Pietrek on October 10, 2007

Today I ran into a frustrating issue. I was creating some custom site definitions and when I attempted to provision a site, I would get the “404 Not Found” error. Instead of creating a default.aspx, I created several derivatives with different names (e.g. defaultxxxxx.aspx). The issue was in the ONET.XML file in the modules section, I referenced the correct URL but did not give it a name.

    <Module Name=”CustomSite01Url=”” Path=””>

      <File Url=”default01.aspxName=”default.aspxNavBarHome=”TrueType=”Ghostable“>

        <NavBarPage Name=”$Resources:core,nav_Home;ID=”1002Position=”Start” />

        <NavBarPage Name=”$Resources:core,nav_Home;ID=”0Position=”Start” />

      </File>

    </Module>

Posted in SPDev | 2 Comments »