Everything SharePoint and XAML

My continuous learning of SharePoint, XAML, Silverlight, Windows Phone 7, Windows 8, Office, VSTO, C#…

Archive for October 24th, 2007

Internet Explorer 6.0 Crash Clicking Items in Quick Launch

Posted by Steve Pietrek on October 24, 2007

Hey everyone,

I’m hoping for a little guidance. I created a basic team site which has a Shared Documents document library and Calendar, Tasks, and Issues lists. As you can read, pretty simple stuff.

I have two users who are running IE 6 (6.0.2900.2180) and when they click a link in the Quick Launch bar, they receive the following error. The error occurs in kernel32.exe.

quicklink_crashinfo.jpg

I have read numerous posts on this issue. There are quite a few on users running into this issue when opening a document (Microsoft has a hotfix on this). It seems related to owssup.dll. My users are not opening documents, they are just clicking the list links in the Quick Launch. My feeling is there is an add-on which is messing up IE. I told them to disable them and figure out which one is causing it.

Update #1 (11/7/2007): I have done a little more research on the issue. I believe the issue is related to either an add-on or a conflict with having Office 2003/Office 2007 applications installed on the system. We ran into another user who has the same issue. What do all of the users have in common? They are all running Office 2003 and Project 2007. Although I told them to go through the list of add-ons and disable one at a time and retry, I believe it’s the conflict issue. I wrote up instructions for the users to hopefully resolve the issue. We’ll see when they run through the tests:

  1. Open C:\program files\microsoft office\office 12\ 
  2. Rename the OWSSUPP.DLL file to something like OWSSUPP.backup.
  3. Go to Start –> All Programs –> Microsoft Office –> Microsoft Office Tools –> Microsoft Office Diagnostics.
  4. Run the tool after it runs you will have a new OWSSUPP.DLL file.  If you look at the time stamp it should be an hour newer than the other dlls.
Posted in SPErrors | Comments Off on Internet Explorer 6.0 Crash Clicking Items in Quick Launch