Everything SharePoint and XAML

My continuous learning of SharePoint, XAML, Silverlight, Windows Phone 7, Windows 8, Office, VSTO, C#…

Archive for November 15th, 2007

Links (11/15/2007)

Posted by Steve Pietrek on November 15, 2007

  1. **** Code Callout Features: How to make automated modifications to sites after they have been deployed
  2. Sharepoint Application pool settings: update
  3. An unhandled exception occurred in the user interface.Exception Information: OSearch (Administrator)
  4. When a Feature Isn’t the Same Thing as a feature
  5. Get a list of site groups – against CommunityUserDataSet
  6. Add user to a SharePoint Group ( Web Service )
  7. How to Remove Unwanted Top Sites
  8. Convert template title to internal name
  9. Expanding the Global Navigation in SharePoint
  10. Some comments on common Variation problems
  11. Deciding to use SharePoint Server 2007 or SharePoint Services (Part 1)
  12. Deciding to use Sharepoint Server 2007 or SharePoint Services (Part 2)
  13. BDC Meta Man new release
  14. An Introduction to Single-Sign-On (SSO) with Data Views
  15. Visio SharePoint Stencils
  16. SharePointPedia.com – SharePointPedia.com is a web site where people discover and share useful content about SharePoint and SharePoint related products and technologies. It’s a social computing application built on top of Microsoft Office SharePoint Server (MOSS) 2007.
  17. Office Space: Event handling in SharePoint 2007
  18. Lesson Learned While Customizing Newform.aspx
  19. What is a “Current View” and why can’t I find it anywhere?
  20. Upload a File to a SharePoint Document Library – Part II
  21. Overriding core.css in MOSS 2007
  22. What is the difference between a file server and SharePoint?
  23. How delete webparts from a page using the browser (spcontnt.aspx)
  24. What is SharePoint? – new screencast created with the answer
  25. Promote and recommend SharePoint content
  26. Information Rights Management in MOSS
  27. Announcing the SharePoint Toolbox shared source project on CodePlex along with CopyTimer and SPAlertPipeline
  28. Best Practice : Using disposable objects in SharePoint
  29. Setting Up a Development Environment for the 2007 Microsoft Office System
  30. Creating Keywords and Best Bets for MOSS Search programmatically
  31. Getting Search Crawl Details from the DB
Posted in SPLinks | Comments Off on Links (11/15/2007)

Telerik Controls in a Web Part

Posted by Steve Pietrek on November 15, 2007

My client had a requirement to display a tab strip with 4 tabs in it. On each tab they wanted a way to enter some simple HTML text. Great, sounds easy enough. I have some experience with Telerik’s fine ASP.NET controls so I quickly put something together. The client wanted the control to look a certain way. Lucky for me, it was close enough to Telerik’s standard ClassicBlue theme.

After going through the regiment of creating a webpart file, a feature, and a solution package, after adding my web part to the a page, the theme did not come through. The theme was included in the page source but was defined as the following:

/RadControls/Tabstrip/Skins/ClassBlue/styles.css

Easy enough, I copied the source path to my virtual directory, iisreset, refreshed the page, and the theme came through. However, this is where the problems starting occurring. First, if I entered site anonymously, I would either get prompted for a user name and password on any page where the tabstrip web part was placed (very confusing at first) or worse I would receive an 403 error. Second, I had a difficult time figuring out how to include this theme in a WSP file so I could deploy it.

The first issue was simple enough to resolve. I opened Windows Explorer, right-clicked on the RadControls folder, selected properties – Security – and added the anonymous user (servername/iurs_servername). After an iisreset, all was well. This is not the most elegant solution though. I would run into the same issues if I forget to add the security (unfortunately ran into this issue yesterday at the client site – most embarrassing). Also, the quick fix doesn’t doesn’t solve my deploy issue. Back to the drawing board.

Solution: After reviewing the page source, I soon realized I should be able to specify my own path to the skin. Telerik controls have a SkinsPath. I assigned the following path:

_tabstrip .SkinsPath = “/_layouts/images/rsc/RadControls/TabStrip/Skins”

Once I included the proper theme files in my WSP, everything worked properly. This solved both issues. I’m a happy camper!

Posted in SPWebParts | Comments Off on Telerik Controls in a Web Part