Everything SharePoint and XAML

My continuous learning of SharePoint, XAML, Silverlight, Windows Phone 7, Windows 8, Office, VSTO, C#…

Error: Cannot convert type ‘Microsoft.SharePoint.WebControls.DelegateControl’ to ‘System.Web.UI.IAttributeAccessor’

Posted by Steve Pietrek on January 29, 2008

Today I was modifying application.master and ran into the following error:

“Cannot convert type ‘Microsoft.SharePoint.WebControls.DelegateControl’ to ‘System.Web.UI.IAttributeAccessor'”

Instead of following my own advice on disabling My Site and My Links, I commented out the two lines in the custom Master File I created. I copied the commented code from my custom Master File to application.master. When I refreshed the page, I received the error above. At least for the two lines I commented out, SPD adds characters for spaces and such. It does not cause any issues for end-user Master Pages but it does for application.master. Figuring that was the issue, I put back the correct code and uncommented. Error went away.  

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
