Everything SharePoint and XAML

My continuous learning of SharePoint, XAML, Silverlight, Windows Phone 7, Windows 8, Office, VSTO, C#…

Custom Application.Master: Script error when creating new list column

Posted by Steve Pietrek on January 30, 2008

OK, learn something new everyday. After the success of creating a custom application.master and applying it correctly (I am currently using Method #1 until I can find the time to do an application development method), I ran into an issue creating a new list column. Within IE7, I received an “undefined or null” script error. Firefox wouldn’t do anything.

Fired up Firebug and reviewed the SubmitPage() method. Set a few breakpoints and realized the FrmSubmit object is undefined. Doh!

Realizing the FrmSubmit information is set by the PlaceHolderUtilityContent placeholder, I quickly saw my error. The problem was I had embedded the PlaceHolderUtilityContent placeholder within the main <Form>. Moved the following line outside of </form> but above </body> and I am good to go.

<asp:ContentPlaceHolder id="PlaceHolderUtilityContent" runat="server"></asp:ContentPlaceHolder>

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
