Everything SharePoint and XAML

My continuous learning of SharePoint, XAML, Silverlight, Windows Phone 7, Windows 8, Office, VSTO, C#…

Hide Users on Welcome Screen in Windows Server 2008

Posted by Steve Pietrek on February 26, 2009

I am in the process of putting together a demo VM. I have 8 users which I use from time to time; however, I always want to log on as the Administrator account. To save an extra click, I want to only allow the Administrator to display on the Welcome screen. A quick search on Google points you to posts on changing the Registry. Here is an example post listing the steps to modify the Registry.

Although modifying the Registry is an acceptable solution, I wanted an easier way. Below are steps to accomplish this request:

  1. Select Local Security Policy from Administrative Tools.
  2. Expand Local Policies.
  3. Select User Rights Assignment.
  4. Double-click Deny log on locally to display dialog.
  5. Add users or groups.
  6. Click OK to save.
  7. Reboot.

From the help:

This security setting determines which users are prevented from logging on at the computer. This policy setting supersedes the Allow log on locally policy setting if an account is subject to both policies.

Important: If you apply this security policy to the Everyone group, no one will be able to log on locally.

Update #1. It appears the same option is available for Windows Server 2003.

2 Responses to “Hide Users on Welcome Screen in Windows Server 2008”

  1. tinaa said

    hi to all
    well i wont to ask …
    i have my windows server (remote desktop) but we use together with my brother i know i cna make more user but we know admin password and we can se all in all accounts if is possible to make one account but thay account to be hide from admin or administrator
    thank you

  2. The group policy settings don’t seem to work right. I tried to disable “users” and even though the administrator account was not in the “users” group, I was completely locked out of the system. Fortunately, I had a backup to go to.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
