Everything SharePoint and XAML

My continuous learning of SharePoint, XAML, Silverlight, Windows Phone 7, Windows 8, Office, VSTO, C#…

Configure Advanced Search

Posted by Steve Pietrek on March 27, 2009

A coworker asked if it was possible to send a notification to a user’s supervisor when the user made changes to their user profile. I was able to quickly put something together (anybody interested) but ran into issues when attempting to test my change. The search box in my site did not have advanced search functionality so I could not search for my name under People. I was only able to search the current site (This Site: <Site Name>).

image

The steps below will take you through the process of creating a Search Center sub-site within your existing site collection:

  1. Open the top-level site in your site collection.
  2. Create a new Search Center (with tabs) sub-site. 
  3. Reopen the top-level site in your site collection.
  4. Open Site Settings.
  5. Click the “Search settings” link under the “Site Collection Administration” group.
  6. Select the “Use custom scopes” option. Paste in the Url to the Search site collection (e.g. /sites/sitename/searchcenter/Pages/).
  7. Click the OK button to save.

image

image

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
