Everything SharePoint and XAML

My continuous learning of SharePoint, XAML, Silverlight, Windows Phone 7, Windows 8, Office, VSTO, C#…

Quick Way to Add Web Parts to Page

Posted by Steve Pietrek on May 5, 2009

As most SharePoint consultants, I would quite a bit with end users. Invariably I get asked the following question. “Can you talk with Microsoft and see if they can add a feature to allow me to specify how many Web parts to add to a page at a given time?”. Unfortunately I don’t have a Bat phone into Redmond, but I have an option.

If I want to add three Content Editor Web Parts (CEWP) to a page, do the following:

  1. Select Site Actions > Edit Page
  2. Click the “Add web parts” link in the Web Part Zone you want to add the CEWP.
  3. In the “Add Web Parts” dialog, check the CEWP option and click the Add button.
  4. To add the second CEWP, click the F5 button.
  5. Bam! A new CEWP has been added.
  6. Click F5 again to add the third CEWP.

You can add as many as you want by repeatingly clicking the F5 button. If you want the CEWP to another Web Part Zone, click F5 to add it and drap and drop it to the new Web Part Zone.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
